6 Places To Visit In Swakopmund

Swakopmund is a coastal city in Namibia, west of the capital, Windhoek. Its sandy beaches face the Atlantic Ocean. So I suggest that everyone goes out and explores what is on our doorstep.

I am an honest and genuine person. I do not have a degree in journalism, nor do I have any writing experience. I simply write the way I speak.
This will make my reviews somewhat different to the “norm”! …

  1. Welwitchia Restaurant

IMG_5403[1].JPG

Welwitchia Restaurant (Swakopmund) Couldn’t take a clear picture because it was raining.

Welwitchia Restaurant in downtown Swakopmund is a restaurant that offers best homestyle Portuguese food along the Namibian coast. It is such a cool concept and great for large groups because it is very spacious and truly has something for everyone, in fact it is homely!

Now let’s talk about the food. The food was absolutely delicious.  Everything was perfect. The service was brilliant. The servers were quick and accommodating. The fries were hot and crispy on the outside, soft on the inside and the beef was fresh and crunchy and not soggy at all.

2. The Jetty Restaurant 1905/ Bridge

IMG_5256[1].JPG

I couldn’t agree less when one of the tourists from Germany said “bridge to a very good restaurant”. You can sit in- or outside and watch the waves of the ocean rolling over the sand. There is a great view once you take a walk out on the jetty. This is also a great way to get some relief from the heat by getting the cool breeze. The service is friendly, helpful, quick and kind. The fish was cooked perfectly and worth the value of the meal.

IMG_5259[1].JPG

3. Palm Beach

IMG_5477[1]

Palm Beach in Swakopmund is possibly the most chilled out place in Swakopmund to take long walks (shoes are optional), relax, have never-ending conversations and watch as the sun sets. Which unfortunatley, none of that happened. All I did was look at waves, took pictures and played with the water. *laughs*

IMG_5353[1].JPG
“Joyce”
IMG_5478[1].JPG

4. Platz am Meer Mall

IMG_5479[1]

 Its well situated, with a great ocean view. Has most of your shopping needs. Sufficient parking and multiple entrances and exits. This is my  new favourite mall in Swakopmund.

When you walk in a restaurant, you are greeted by warm and friendly staff, people who genuinely seem to like their job, which makes
a HUGE difference to the service experience. A happy staff creates a happy atmosphere and I for one am always smiling in there, and not just because of the food. Hehe..

Feel free to check their website out: Platz am Meer

IMG_5482[1]

5. Dune 7

IMG_5330

This is situated few km away from Wavlis Bay.

Took me like 1 hour 30 minutes to get to the top. Number one- the sun was frying my good self and feet. It was hot, merely 36 degrees Celsius. Number two- the sand is soo fine that your feet will immediately sink in and sand was boiling hot. But after all I made it to the top, like I had no energy, not even for a straight pose. *laughs*

EYMW4314[1].jpeg
I was exhausted.
It’s a really big dune, looks small from far. One should go there early morning. But it was really fun. I bet I loosed 2kg.

5. Aquarium

IMG_5210

This is a small aquarium but is SO WELL done. Just the perfect size for children with shorter attention spans; an hour is all you need. I am not a big fan of animals in captivity actually.

IMG_5228I hope you enjoyed these.

 

Love and Blessings,

Picture6

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. mandy says:

    This was so interesting I could repeat reading it a thousand times yo go girl

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Rejoice A says:

      Danke schön💕

      Like

  2. Mbalenhle says:

    That aquarium 😭💗. Namibia is right next door to South Africa, I should really consider coming there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rejoice A says:

      Definitely, you should come💕🌴. I’ve been to SA once and it’s a beautiful country.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

